Back to Highlights

(Related artist)

Author: Brook Hsu
Publish year: 2021
Published by American Art Catalogues
ISBN: 978-1-63972-522-9
Softcover, 28 x 24 cm, 76 pages (each, Book I & II), 28 pages (insert)


‘Norwegian Wood’ takes its form and title from the first edition English printing of Haruki Murakami’s 1987 novel. Assembled in three parts, Book I and II, designed as companions to one another, are reflections of themselves that survey a selection of 94 works from 2013 to 2021. The third, a booklet that houses a commissioned essay by Amanda Schmitt, a poem from Alex Jen, and a new text by Hsu.

The three volumes arrive entombed in a stamped slipcase, and are encouraged to be exhumed together, and explored concurrently. ‘Norwegian Wood’ serves not only as an expansive reference of Hsu’s practice (thus far) as a painter, but as an embodiment of past and future; love and loss, a beginning and an end.

Image courtesy of American Art Catalogues.